Children’s books that raise awairness of global events

It is a bit of a crazy time right now in terms of global events, what with BREXIT and Donal Trump etc, all of which I am far too young (and happy) to worry and think about. So, here are my top ten fictional children’s/Y.A books that I think help raise awairness of global and disturbing events, both past and present:

The diary of Anne Frank (a brilliant true diary of a Jewish gorgeous girl)

Welcome to Nowhere by Elizabeth Laird (fantastic hardback that will make you weep!)

Wonder by R.J Pilacio (a story all about kindness and the importance of kindness.)

War Horse by Michael Morpurgo (You’ve all read it. You’ve all heard of it. One word. Brilliant.)

(Haven’t read it yet but want to… it’s…) I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

One by Sarah Crossan (a heart-breaking story of love, friendship and loss.)

I have the right to be a child by 3 brilliant authors (this picture book is just perfect.)

My little book of big freedoms illustrated by Chris Riddell (so great. Full of enthusiasm, peace and love.)

The Unforgotten coat by Frank Cottrell Boyce (an interesting book that brings a warmth to the heart.)

Here I stand by many talented authors (a gorgeous-looking anthology that I have yet to read but can’t wait to get my nose buried into.)

I could go on forever listing books that raise awairness but those were my top ten, and if you haven’t already done so, I really think you should read them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

