The Hound Of The Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

As I came to the end of this well-known classic, I realised I had not yet reviewed it on here. I immediately wrote a review, so here it is:

This cleverly-written book brings an eerie and mysterious feeling to the reader and it’s mystery throughout is wonderful. As this is such a famous classic, the writing can be a little old-fashioned, but with a dictionary in hand and my detective-thinking-hat on, I whizzed through this beautiful book.

The copy of this book was also very beautiful, with a paperback eerie cover and gorgeous thin pages. As I sped through this, some of it was quite tricky to understand and when reading books like that, it can put you off the plot and even the whole book altogether sometimes. But to me the plot was so thick, I found myself understanding every word.

My favourite parts of the book were the descriptions of the moor (where the book is set.)  These gave an atmospheric and mysterious effect and during these parts of the book, I was transported to a place of heather plants and whistling wind.

Arthur Conan Doyle really understands the concept of mystery writing and I think it is important that younger readers like me are reading these kind of classics. I recommend it for 11+ as this book deals with some pretty complex themes.

If you are reading this book, or are going to read it, there are some really useful reading notes that you can find here:

http://www.sparknotes.com/lit/hound

Until the next post, happy reading!

One thought on “The Hound Of The Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

  1. Kate Gibbon says:

    Hi Olive,
    I loved your review of the Hound of The Baskervilles and I agree that it is important these classics continue to be tackled by young readers as they are the backdrop for modern literature. I understand too how to enjoyed the thin pages, I feel the same when I read Dickens and even if I don’t understand every word, the feeling washes over me like a waterfall.
    Thank you,
    Kate

    Like

Leave a Reply

